Speedbird TV And Big Jet TV

When severe weather/driving conditions are forecast my natural instinct is to go out and pit myself and my vehicle against them.

However, I didn't need to go out and decided to be sensible, given the red warning. I'm very grateful to @NorfolkGTI on Twitter for posting a link to Speedbird TV, a guy live streaming planes coming into Heathrow in the 60- 80 mph winds of Storm Eunice. At first there were severe cross winds and the aircraft were having to crab. Many aborted their landings at the last minute, planes diverted to Lisbon and Zurich after three attempts to land. By 12:30 there had been thirty-three go arounds. Then Speedbird TV took a break for lunch.

I switched to watching Big Jet TV, by which time there was a head wind. I found Jerry Dyer, who has been dubbed the star of the storm, a bit annoying but very enthusiastic. He had a position, unlike Speedbird TV, where the actual landings could be seen. I'm sorry that I missed the landing of the Qatar Airbus A380, the world's largest passenger airliner, at the third attempt.

Hundreds of thousands of people watched Big Jet TV today. Many have commented on Jerry Dyer's catchphrases, including, Nicely done , Oh no, he didn't like that, Fair play mate, Nuts man. My favourite is Literally Skiathos.


Jerry Dyer made the ITV six o'clock News and had Greg James talking about him and his YouTube channel. A passenger on one of the flights in question said that in those conditions it felt like the plane was made of paper. A BuzzFeed news reporter said, watching British Airways nail these landings one after the other is the most proud I've been to be British in a while.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.