Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

My New Toy

Better today.   Got to spend time outside with the new lens I bought last week at my camera shop.  Traded in my crappy 70-200 for a 100-400.  Nothing I will carry very far , too big and heavy, but it’s perfect for around here.  So bear with me.  I'm learning. Couldn’t sit on the beach as the bottom 3 stepping stones have washed apart and I wasn’t sure I could do it so we’ll fix it up tomorrow.   So I sat on the wharf where I can look south (green) and North (blue)..saw several variety of ducks but put these in one place so you can see the difference between Common Goldeneye and Barrow’s goldeneye, (should you want to!?) Of course what I really liked was the water pattern.   
Extra:  And then I walked to the power station and stood about a football field from it and shot these 2 at 100mm and 400mm to get a feel for what it can do.    I loved that I could recognize my neighbors up there burning brush…they have cleared a bunch of the edge .  the “cyber bench” you see used to be just inside the trees, then the only place I could find any internet at one time long ago.
So far I’m pleased but think it will be very hard to focus on a flying creature!  We’ll see.  Our neighbor from across the Bay was here chatting when I got back.  

AND of course I just couldn’t completely ignore the D covid test so gave it one more try which is worth reporting.   Got a human after only about 35 minutes who was very nice and straightened out the website to work right for me  (Im not bad with this stuff usually but this was way confusing with unclear instructions) and made the phone appointment to do the covid test right after (because the internet was not available for a zoom thing)!  
SO it’s done!   Both those women were most amazed at where I was and sympathetic but their job was complete.   Then I had to call fedex and explain that it would take a boat, a float plane or a ferry trip to pick up this sample!  The first thing he told me was that the tracking # of the box I was given 2 days ago at the border was too old (aug 2021) and couldn’t be picked up!!!!!!
Then he changed his mind.   but nothing was possible in 24 hours.   SO supposedly some poor fedex employee is getting paid by the Canadian government to drive a truck on the ferry from Burnaby on the mainland on Monday (a holiday here) and pick up this wee sample from a triple vaxxed, recent neg pcr tested old lady who is basically quarantined on the island.  Only 2 ferries a day.   Want to bet whether that happens?   I promise I will shut up about this utter stupidity.  (But I’ll report on Monday …of course the sample is 3 days too old.   Not my problem)

Sorry for the words…  Very few tomorrow.  Promise!

Not sure the internet got any faster....but it was off for a little while.  Maybe they are not done working on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.