The cicadas are coming.....

Well spring has definitely sprung as temperatures felt more like summer today. It reached 84F today. I had to put the air conditioning on in the car. It isn't supposed to last though. Thunder storms tomorrow will be cooling things off quite a bit.
I got an email from my oldest son about the return of the cicadas after seventeen years being underground. I know he was trying to really gross me out because there was a video attached of them hatching. Oooh I how I hate the thought of these things!
Once the ground temperature hits 64 degrees it's just a matter of time. A swarm of cicadas will climb up from underground and look for a mate. It's party time for the creepy bugs that look like gigantic flies. A frenzy of mating will last up to six weeks starting by the end of this month. They lay their eggs then croak! We don't have to worry about them again until 2030! Meanwhile millions of cicadas per acre will wreak havoc as they fly into people, car windshields etc. I for one will be running and screaming from my house to my car and I don't care if I look like a total loon because I hate bugs!!!!!
I imagine some good blips will come of this event!

For now I have chosen our local cathedral as my blip. St Francis of Assisi is a beautiful cathedral and is right in the center of the town. It was not always a cathedral, nor was it always known as St. Francis Parish. In the mid-1800's, it was a mission church dedicated to St. Joseph. Since then, two other churches have been erected. St. Francis Cathedral, as we know it today, is actually the third church erected here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.