Balvaird Castle, Perthshire

Balvaird castle is a traditional late medieval Scottish tower house.  It is located just over the border from Fife into Perthshire, about 2 miles north of Gateside.  It was built around the year 1495.  It is now a scheduled monument.

When I looked out this morning across the Forth I could see snow on The Pentlands, so we set out in search of snow on this side of the Forth.  As we drove towards the centre of Fife I could see The Lomonds covered in snow, so I knew we were heading in the right direction.  We headed for Gateside, where I grew up, then decided to drive north to Balvaird Castle.  It was a good decision.  We were blessed with beautiful blue skies and crisp white snow.  There wasn`t another person to be seen.

Extras:  A view of West Lomond (my childhood playground)
              Another view of Balvaird Castle
              Geordie in the snow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.