The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Humphrey Head

Humphrey Head is a long thin promontory of limestone that projects into Morecambe Bay.  Here it is seen from the top of the Knott on an afternoon that was much better than forecast.  After a snowstorm in the morning, the sun came out in the afternoon, and a few sledgers took advantage of the wet snow, and snow men appeared on the hill.

Earlier I went to Carnforth for my fourth dose of a Covid vaccine.  This is one of the advantages of having had a blood cancer, my immune system gets topped up before most other people's.  So far so good, just a bit of a sore arm.  And I managed to clear up the little juniper tree that was felled by Eunice yesterday, as well as having a Gusless walk up the Knott.  He seemed quite keen to join me, perhaps he had a sense we were going to meet someone with 4 collies, including a young female who would have got him very excited.  But we never would have made it beyond the edge of the wood.  So he stayed and I went on my own, but I always miss being with Gus of the Knott. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.