Mike’s Photo Journal

By iPhone_User

Swirling Waters

Saturday – the day after Storm Eunice and whilst the storm was on its way over the North Sea and heading toward Europe, we still had a lot of rain and strong gusty winds for most of the morning.  In fact, it was getting to the point where I thought that today’s Blip was going to cover happenings within the house, including today’s photo. 


So, I settled down to watch the West Ham v Newcastle footie match whilst having lunch with a beer and during the second half of the game, the clouds started to clear and the sun made a welcome appearance, although it was still blustery.  Mrs IU cancelled her plan to go to the local supermarket for some bargain priced makeup offers as she said she could not be bothered preferring to keep warm indoors reading.

So, I took the opportunity to once again drive off down to the river to see what was happening following all the rain we’d had and this time, the Wye had indeed burst its banks, but nothing like last year, although of course, with rain forecast for tomorrow, anything is possible in a few days’ time.

I managed to take a few photos and as I was unsure which was the best, opted to upload a couple. I decided to go with the super wide angle shot as the first choice as I felt it offered more impact and told the story – I especially liked the swirling waters at the bottom too. You can see the town of Ross with the church steeple of St Mary’s far in the distant horizon.
For the second photo taken from a slightly different viewpoint, I used the new 70mm zoom on the iPhone to show more of the Ross town by the river, and I have to say I was equally impressed with the quality, especially as it was quite windy on the bridge, and was not helped by vans and lorries thundering along the road/across the bridge just feet behind me.

The other exciting thing that happened today was that I received notifications I had won the latest iPhone 13 and a new iPad too.  Not forgetting the $50 gift voucher from Walmart.too.  

Anyhow, thanks for viewing and making any comments and giving out stars etc.

And I've just received a notification that I have reached the 50 in a Row award.  So that can't be bad either

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.