Paladian

By Paladian

Hide and Seek

For the first time today, I took the camera down to the shed. We use this shed to store gym equipment - well, just the bench press really, so it's time it had a secondary use. I'm going to use it as a bird hide.

So I set myself up, and after 20 minutes or so, I was really tempted to blip an out-of-focus image of the trunk of a silver birch and tell you the bird was just behind it. Which it was - honest.

Then, just as the Rower came down to do his bench press (and I'm under very strict instructions not to let on how long it is since we actually used this monstrous piece of equipment), this New Holland Honey Eater perched right outside the window. It has a very irritating bit of branch in front of its face, which is going to be cut off pronto.

It's a very cute little bird, albeit aggressive - it's actually come down to try and scare off the Eastern Spinebill which feeds off the salvia. And that's not fair, since the honey eater can't use the salvia as a food source - its beak isn't the right shape. So it's just being very dog-in-the-mangerish. It's all fluffed up because it's about to give its ear a good scratch.

Fluffier

All in all a very good experiment. Now all I need is a stool, a coffee maker, an easy chair, and a good book - and I'll be set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.