Making Sweet Music

Had a fabulous day today that included some of my favourite activities: knitting, jigsaw puzzle, and walking - and a phone chat with Mr PP Jnr. 

My walk totted up 75 active minutes on my FitBit (and I achieved over 10,000 steps for the first time this month). Walked up through Worlebury Woods and discovered Storm Eunice had felled and/or damaged a goodly number of trees. (See Extras, that also include a further image of the remains of this ancient Iron Age Camp Fort, the largest such site in Europe.)

Originally, it would have had seven concentric walls, with ditches in between set apart by the distance of the flight of a slingshot stone. Around two hundred people would have lived in the camp, 2000+ years ago. It was amazing to see and touch stones from the walls and consider their immense age and history. 

I chose this photo for my main blip as the tree in the foreground suggested to me a slim, elegant lady violinist (ideal for Silly Saturday)! 

At the fort, I got chatting to two women, one of whom was a knowledgeable volunteer for the camp's preservation, and does guided talks, often accompanying groups of scouts to visit the ancient site. If you would like to know more about its history, have a look here.

Thanks for visiting my journal and for all the lovely comments, etc. on my yesterblip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.