Gratitude - Mixed Media Acrylic on Canvas

Probably I’m finished with this painting. It started with me writing words of gratitude on the canvas with Posca pens. I wrote about things I’m grateful for: Shelly, family, friends, art, music. I wrote about states and feelings: lucky, happy, grateful. Then I put on impasto and sprayed and dripped inks. Then let the whole thing dry. It was a complicated mess truthfully. So I painted out sections with acrylic paint, mostly pastels and white. That dried and I added more color and detail with Posca. Did that a couple of times. Now it’s resting. When I pass it tomorrow I may see something else it’s asking me to do.

Shelly and I went to the Hilltop Restaurant for the first Whatcom Community College retiree’s breakfast in two years. There were seven of us there and we snapped right back into conversations surrounded by laughter and humor. Shelly had the pancakes he’s been craving and we both had a wonderful time with my former work buddies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.