pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Eunicycle

Never before have I had a more important video call to attend than I did this morning.

It stands to reason then that that would be the precise time that Eunice would really hit her stride and rip branches from trees to deposit them on local power cables not equipped to hold their weight. There I was mid-flow, pitching like a sweaty, yet well-prepared contestant on Dragon’s Den, when suddenly everything went black and I was left cold and alone in a room talking to myself without so much as a knock-off Peter Jones to berate me. I tried to get back into it when the power came back on briefly, only for it to fail again. With the various “G” signals being inadequate, I eventually dialled in and maintained a listening brief.

All this on my day off and only to find at the end of said day that we hadn’t won it! Oh well. Three people dying in the storm very quickly provides you with a sense of perspective.

With the power most definitely out at my parents we decamped to my sister’s for a very pleasant few hours and bonus play time for the cousins who were ensconced in screens and crafty bits. Following dinner we re-camped back to the ‘rents and lit every candle we could find and put fresh batteries in mum’s staggering array of fairy lights.

The children, initially displaying a little trepidation about the darkness quickly came around with a couple of games of cards and Uno and had no bother bundling up under the duvet and falling asleep by candlelight.

Just like the old days. When Grandad was a lad.

Hope everyone managed to stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.