Sonset25

By Sonset25

Storm Franklin

Met J in town, parked bike and walked to the botanical gardens.  It was a blustery morning and the gardens had clear evidence of Storm Eunice with branches, pine cones and pine needles on the ground.  The main is a close up of a birch's twisted limbs.  It looked as if it was freeze framed mid-writhe. The first extra shows the tree's cup-like structure. 
It started to rain as we left the garden and walk back to my parked bicycle.  Many people out despite the inclement weather.
Walked home with J as we both live north of the city centre.
When I arrived home fed the hound late lunch.  Looked for my phone to look at photos. Rang the mobile number on my landline to locate its whereabouts in the house and a stranger answered. I felt panic rising as my phone is in a wallet WITH credit and debit cards.  
Thankfully someone had retrieved my phone wallet and sent me an email to say they had it safe.  We drove round to the address nearby and collected it.  Mr G, the finder - mercifully NOT keeper and me loser/weeper - asked me to check if cards were all there.  They were!
Faith in human nature restored.  Someone was watching over me.
Pondered how I could express my profound gratitude and appreciation for Mr G's act, decided on a thank you card. 
Note to self: do NOT cycle with phone in external coat side pocket.
Storm Franklin is wending eastwards. 
These storms are becoming a habit. 
Stay safe, warm and dry. Hope you escape unscathed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.