Karaw

Strava Day 267/ #75Hard Off Phase Day 24.

Gallon, reading, forest bath, indoor yoga and mindful activity done. Took a bath before 5:55 and was "gym ready" (Chuck's, mask, and earbuds on but would really like to remember this morning when I saw T on the floor of Gramp's and Gramma's place doodling his Moondrop and Sunrise series. No longer pressuring him to take a bath before lunch and no longer forcing him to try speaking in Bikol or Filipino. I have accepted he is more comfortable speaking in English.  Learning is gradual and perhaps one day, he will learn the value of being able to communicate his needs (even if not fluent) based on where he is. Must admit, it is partly my fault because as a workaholic, I rarely have time for play with him.

Speaking of play, the title "Karaw" is the Bikol term for "play," reminding me to not take life so seriously. Paying bills is a priority as an adult but life and time with family is priceless.

***
Grateful for pasalubong from Pides, our dear friend/wedding photographer.  Met her from College when I worked as Associate Editor for our publication and we have been writing letters and exchanging travel stories since. She has not been "home" for a while and it was lovely to see her delighted just to visit a local mall for the first time. She hoarded magic tape for me and bought me an expensive book even if I did not ask for it. She even bought T carrot cake from Bigg's Diner. She was looking for Qué Pasa but I told her it is already closed. Had "selfie with Pides" written on my bucket list page in my Become Studios' journal, had something else planned but somehow, what we got was better. It is a lesson in letting go of being a control freak. It is difficult but possible with lots of patience and practice. Here's to you chasing light and choosing joy. Gratitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.