CameraColin

By MrColinWilson

"Awl" things have a beginning and an end

My old friend Jim passed away yesterday.
This old awl was his. He used to be a cobbler/leather worker and when I became interested in leatherwork as a hobby a few years back he observed quietly.
I showed him some of the stuff I made (mainly belts for friends and a collar and lead for a neighbours dog) and he seemed to approve.
Jim was from a generation of Scots from whom praise would never be gushing but when he passed this awl on to me I understood without the need for words.

For a good tradesman, tools are his means of providing for himself and his family and they are treated with respect and guarded well.
Lift a mans tools on a building site in Scotland without his consent and you will likely get a black eye for your trouble!

Anyway Soozy and I had a dram in his memory...cheers Jim

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.