Aftermath of Storms D to F

Strong winds raged all night and all morning, although there wasn't much more rain. The Wharfe has dropped to normal levels but has left a lot of water stranded. In fact, cycling out to Skipton today, on the back roads, I saw water where I've never seen it before. On my way to a funeral at the woodland burial ground at Tarn Moor, my feet were saturated upon arrival. The massive puddles were too deep and too long to free-wheel through. One was so deep and offered so much resistance that I didn't think I was going to make it out the other side. It was a tough ride out against the wind but it would have been a hell of a lot tougher if I'd had to leave an hour earlier. And then the sun came out on the way back. 

Fran was a cyclist, so I wanted to cycle out as a mark of respect. Also, being in the middle of nowhere, there wasn't a lot of choice. Fran, although we only first met a couple of years ago, it was an immense privilege to have had the chance to get to know you a little. You touched a lot of people. That was very clear today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.