Storm Franklin

Well we got the high winds a lot earlier than forecast as in yesterday afternoon - to be honest, it was windy even before that - and the winds really became wild in the evening and all through the night. I only went to bed around 0130 but was wide awake before 0530 due to scary noises from the wind.
I had noticed one of our fence panels was out - well in bits as you can see! 
I tried to get back to sleep but gave in and got up at 0630. 2 mugs of coffee and tried to distract myself from the storm.
I don't think it helps when the gale rattles your letterbox.
Later I noticed that some mortar has fallen off the ridge tiles but nothing else seems to have sustained damage. A planter has blown over, a heavy one and the wind has moved the garden storage box which has some heavy items in it. I think we got off lightly with the way the wind was gusting. I did hear that trees were down in our town and roof tiles blowing off a number of houses.
I went back to bed after Terry left for work and managed to sleep at least 1.5 hours.
Extra photo from this afternoon when the rain stopped but the wind continued to blow quite a big - ideal drying conditions so long as your washing doesn't take flight.
Cleaned the shower and the shower trap after my extra sleep although I didn't feel like doing anything - still tired.
This evening I've finished planning our geocaching trip to Wigan for tomorrow - might get wet!
I really don't want any more storms - never known weather like this ie one storm after another.
Have to be thankful things weren't worse. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.