Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Homemade Vegan soup and peanut butter crackers.

The Feast Day of St. Peter Damian.
The funeral of my Mother in Law took place in Reigate and according to a phone call from my husband, it was a good well organised Requiem Mass and went to plan. The majority of the people invited, managed to travel there. The strong wind, cold and sunshine, were the main weather pattern. It has been recorded live, so I will watch the link when God prompts me. It felt a sad day.
Here in Rishton I was awakened 5:30-am by loud, insistent, confident yowls from Arthur from down on the lower steps. I fed him and got back to sleep. On waking up again just before 8am, I could hear through the double glazed windows, a powerful wind swirling about and causing the tins and metal cans in the street to make a non musical windswept metallic sound. I think a recycling bin most probably had been up turned and the contents scattered.
I stayed home. Arthur also sat with me, as I prayed the Rosary and read short stories from The People's Friend. I did some Social Media as well.
I still believe some common sense and caution is needed regarding self isolation. Wales seems to have a good plan. Northern Ireland also a sensible plan.
I will continue to wear my face mask in shops, wash and dry it. It is no big deal and I feel safer.
Our lives are precious to God, ourselves and our dear ones. I live in a small town of about 12,000 or so people. City populations have a whole long list of more complicated issues to consider.
I hope we all decide wisely how to use our freedom of choices.
Maria has had Covid19 and been in self isolation.
I would have felt very threatened and unhappy if she had come straight home and carried Covid19 from Leeds to Rishton where many elderly people live. I am sure many lessons are still to be learnt. It is a chance to make sacrifices of some freedoms for the greater common good. I don't fly or drive. Many would find that too restricted.
Keep happy and enjoy life. Misery is a bad place, whereas living to spread the joie de vie, the joy of living makes life worth living.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.