Not-Tatie Hash.

Showing my broughtings up.  
We were always a bit gobsmacked every time we heard what percent of a household's food was thrown out weekly.  We were brought up a bit on the frugal side - SO - I attacked the left-overs.  One of my veg. choices on a Sunday is to "roast" a variety of veg. in the Dry-Fryer.  Trouble is, being just me I tend to often use 1/2 of each veg. This results, quite often, in me having 0.5 Carrot, 0.5 Parsnip, 0.5 Sweet Potato, 0.5 Onion. 
Over West you can buy "Thin Mutton" to use for Tatie Hash.  They're WAY too posh over here, call it Breast of Lamb and Bone and Roll it.
Some time ago, not that long after Al died, I bought a roll of it and turned it into three, this was the last third.
SO  -  Enter Not-Tatie Hash.  It was well under way when I thought I'd better lob in a spud, just to preserve authenticity as it were.  The S. R. flour was past its sell/use by date but the Dumplings turned out OK and, as poor old Terry Pratchett used to write in his Prefaces:-

"Brian was born in 1942, and is not dead yet." © Pratchett.
*~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *  
Speaking of "Taties" I'll never understand why so many call them Tatties.
Look up Tatty online and you'll not see mention of a spud:-
"tatty

adjective
Somewhat worn, shabby, or dilapidated.

Dilapidated, distressed, worn-out, torn, showing signs of wear and tear"
AND, let's face it, when was the last time you bought a stone of Potattoes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.