randomgirl

By randomgirl

Scarlet Elf Cup

It seems to be the time of year for the Scarlet Elf Cup fungus right now - in this part of the woods anyway. It was a wet and windy day, punctuated by bits of sunshine, when I went out. I had to divert into the woods for a bit of shelter from the cold and wet.

These little fungi were growing all around in this particular area of woodland. The ones in the extra were especially small. I guess they might be new ones, because they look more perfect and cup-like. I expect they get damaged and nibbled as they grow! 

Just found some info about them:
https://www.wildlifetrusts.org/wildlife-explorer/fungi/scarlet-elfcup

There was a lot more water in the nearby stream than normal. I liked the wild snowdrops growing beside the stretch of stream in my other extra. 

(I'll start deleting some of these extras soon.... been using quite a lot lately!) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.