Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

I'm Lichen This!

Determined to do a one off photograph today, rather than a collage, I walked along the cliff top and through the gardens, thinking I might blip a flower or two - but then as I continued along a tree-lined avenue, I saw this lichen. I have noticed lichen on trees in our own garden, but can't say I have ever looked at them closely. However, I did today, and saw that they are beautiful. (I did get some strange looks from passers-by!)

I looked up some information about lichens - I believe this one is Physcia Grisea, a common British lichen.

Apparently, they are a product of a joining of fungi and algae in a symbiotic relationship - but as I am not a biologist or a botanist, like my friend, Barry, I had to look up the definition of this and found the following:

The classical example of symbiosis is lichens, "plants" which grow on rocks or tree trunks and they are "double-organisms". One part of them is an algae, which can produce food through photosynthesis. However, it needs water to live and it wouldn't survive living on bare, exposed rock. The other part of a lichen is a fungus. It can't produce food, because fungi can't photosynthesise, but it is very tough and can protect the algae from dehydration and other environmental dangers. The two organisms work as one and need each other to survive.

It reminded me of marriage, a relationship between people which is mutually beneficial to both and this, in turn, reminded me of something that Mrs Rosewarne said in her journal yesterday - her wedding annivesary:

"It's not about years.
It's about the transformation that each allows the other."


Although the lichen in this photograph is beautiful, both parts needed to work together and in doing so, that allowed the other to be transformed.

I pray that in all our relationships, whether in marriage, or with friends, we will allow that transformation and hopefully this will make us better people, but....

Be patient, God hasn't finished with me yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.