THE BOSCOMBE TARDIS

Not being a Dr. Who fan, I am completely ignorant (and out of my depth, if I'm honest) about what a Tardis is, so had to Google it - my sons and grandchildren will not be impressed!

Tardis : noun
1. a time machine.
2. a building or container that is larger inside than it appears to be from outside.
Origin
The name (said to be an acronym of Time And Relative Dimensions In Space) of a time machine which had the exterior of a police telephone box in the British TV science fiction series Doctor Who, first broadcast in 1963.


So how many of you reading this knew that the word TARDIS was an acronym?

I always told my boys that you could learn something new every day of your life, and I am still learning!

This particular Tardis is intended to provide a regular police presence in the shopping precinct in Boscombe and will be regularly staffed during day-time hours by police officers and police community support officers, and members of the public can approach them for advice and support.

When I asked the young lady police officer if I could take a photograph she was quite happy for me to do so and there is obviously a lot of interest, as others were taking photographs too.

The fifth Dr. Who, Peter Davison, said:

"There's always something to look at if you open your eyes."

Quite appropriate for blippers, don't you think?

If you haven't a clue about Dr. Who (like me) you might like to listen to the Epic Version of the Doctor Who opening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.