PaulaRCReadman

By PaulaRCReadman

Brown Hare

I’m lucky enough to live in part of England where seeing a brown hare is still quite a common sight but for how much longer I’m not sure. Hopefully, it won’t be in my lifetime or while I can still walk five miles with my friend, Ana. At the moment Ana is back in her homeland of Madeira and I’ve been busy plus the weather too has stop me from going out walking. Ana and I have been walking the paths around our village for over 25 years. We met through work and in the beginning we used to go out walking on a Sunday but after we were made redundant took up walking every day. Back to the decline in the brown hare. Once a common sight in pasture and ploughed fields in recent years our need for housing, roads and modern farming including insecticide and weed-killers has led to they decline. I still feel very lucky to see it golden eyes staring straight at me from the tall grasses. These photos were taken a few years ago and I look forward to sharing new ones with you soon. Off to get ready for my writing group tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.