A one off

After some heavy rain late evening yesterday and overnight, we woke to a lovely blue sky day. So a walk was organised, the first 45 minutes we had done a few times before from Las Nieves to the big Roque de Agando but we hadn’t ever done the next section we had never done before, from Agando down to Benchihigua. We had walked there before but from a different point. It took us three hours in total to get to the little hamlet which is shown in my blip. I was pleased to see that the horses weren’t tethered or confined as they were last time we saw them. One of the white ones looks terribly thin. After a quick lunch in the church grounds we needed to get going for the big climb up. We walked from 605 metres up to 1155 meters, a difference of 550 meters or just over 1800 feet. There were lots of rocks to negotiate, a stream to cross and a couple of trees which had fallen over, to negotiate. I had to stop to get my breath several times on the climb up, a total walk of only 6 miles which took us 6 hours with all my stops. It was worth doing to see all the flowers but we will be aching tomorrow, we already are. When we got back up to Roque Agando, a Canarian TV crew of two were taking photographs of Mount Teide on Tenerife which had lots of snow yesterday, as did El Hierro. I took my own photo of Teide, see extra and Roque Agando. I don’t think I will be repeating the walk but it was good to do it once on 22022022. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.