and through the wire...

By hesscat

Can You See What I See?

Last week Mrs C gave Arlo and I the heartbreaking news that she had misfired Arlo's frisbee into the river in Arniston, it had flowed down over a mini-weir, Arlo tried to get it but it got to deep for him, then it disappeared. Obviously when Mrs C told us that, Arlo already sort of knew. But it still hit him hard.

The frisbee means the world to Arlo, every walk since he's been getting into the chase frisbee posture, waiting for it to fly over him. Wait a minute, he does know it was gone right? Hmmm.... border collies are smart?... hhmmmm...

The river has been a torrent since, I have spent several walks looking for the frisbee, in nooks and crannies, under bridges, over bridges, to our destination, time flies by when... wait... and OMG while throwing sticks OVER the river (he doesn't like the torrent) I took him down for drinkies to save him drinking puddles later, and OMG (repetition) there it was sitting vertically submerged in the river on a bend under a branch. Note this is in between bridges #3 and #4 meaning it had travelled downstream maybe 80 measly metres, and I defintely would have waded past it in my searches.

Ok, if you can see what I can see, here it is ON the branch, but I was too excited to get it before it continued downstream so rescued it, and only then did I think about blipping it - sorry blippers, that was a classic fail, it would have been a much better blip - so I laid it safely above. Arlo was also so excited he asked why I hadn't been throwing it for the past week, and can I just throw it. Sheesh!

So that is the really happy news I have. The less than happy news is it's brand new replacement arrived in the evening.... hmmmm.... wow it is so clean and bridge... frisbee anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.