The second half of life..

By twigs

Historic Lindis Hotel

Lovely sunshine to wake to after a lovely sleep.  Cruisey breakfast and then a closer exploration of the area around the historic hotel site.  

Things that struck me:
*  The enormous amount of manual work that must have gone in to constructing the 6-roomed building.  Miles from anywhere, stone would have to have been hewn and then transported to site before being lifted, shaped and fitted to  the wall.  A concrete mixture of some locally made sort was used to fix pieces of rock in place.
*  How small people must have been back then (it was built around 18??) - if I didn't stoop I would have hit my head on every doorway and at about 5'8" I'm no giant!
*  Despite current day appearances it seems that he hotel was a popular spot with many visitors thanks in part to the Otago gold rush.

I couldn't help but wonder what the builders, hosts and guests would make of the area now.........see extras for an image of the hotel now.....and around the1890's

The rest of today was pretty much driving - probably my longest single day of driving all holiday.  Settled down in Balclutha this evening ready to hit the Catlins tomorrow :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.