River

Not a bad day weather wise, but forecast for tomorrow is ambiguous, so decided to catch the bus to town to do a bit of shopping instead of doing it on the way to choir on Thursday as I would usually do.  This is a view I’ve taken a couple of times before, but the only photo taken today.  The view of the river from Ireland Bridge and taken whilst the bus was queueing at the lights.  The sky looks threatening, but it stayed dry.  There are still sandbags at the Brown Cow Inn, and standing water in places.  Lots of work going on at the pub so it looks as though they may sadly have been flooded again.  The river is still higher than normal, but has gone down a lot since yesterday.  Lots of debris under the bridge. Got too much shopping as usual, and also bought a metal lampshade for the dining end of the kitchen. Fine until I tried to fit the box in a bag, but it was too big, and the supermarket had run out of large bags.  I ended up having to tear a carrier bag down each side just enough to be able to push the box in far enough to be able to carry it - after years of taking the car to get shopping I still have problems with the logistics of getting heavy bags home on the bus! I then had to carry the bags up the hill from the village so I now have one very painful arthritic wrist and thumb - I never learn!  Still, 3 & go with friends was good, and arrangements made for our next meal out next month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.