The Nailbourne in winter

This is our valley's watercourse, the only stretch of water to be found around here. It's the Nailbourne, a winterbourne which dries to mud or cracked earth in the summer and occasionally floods huge areas of surrounding farmland and blocks roads in winter. Its origin is a spring in the next village, a few miles down the valley, and it winds its way to join the Great Stour, which flows through Canterbury and across the flood plains of Thanet to the sea.

It was a beautiful morning, but I was busy with a bed delivery for J, which required that I have her up and in her wheelchair and taken the old bed apart to make way for the new one all before 8 am; and then spent a long time sorting out and renaming all the photos I needed to send to our insurers, along with the detailed report P has written, resizing all the files and attaching them to five emails, since they don't accept download links. By the time I had written a note to my brother to accompany his birthday card and walked to the post box, the sun had gone and the light was chill and wintery. I liked it though - it felt very quiet light, with softly coloured clouds in a watercolour sky above the green and brown fields and trees. 

I may be too late for Wide Wednesday, I take photos every day but am constantly struggling to keep up with the downloading, processing and sharing; however, it was a good reason to go for a walk with a different lens, and I'm grateful for that. I was also grateful for P's delicious breakfast "happy new bed day" savoury scones, for S laughing with J over a lunchtime romcom and massaging her hands into a more relaxed state than I've seen in months, and for a bit of time to sort out my still life photos and get a few ready to print. A good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.