Doug again

The last time I needed to replace a toilet seat, I did it by myself with little difficulty.  Now, however, I can't twist myself into position to remove the broken one, so Doug came over to install the new one.  It turned out to be nightmarishly difficult, as there was a bolt that had to be removed that was stuck fast.  Doug tried for a long time to remove it with the few tools that I have, with no luck.  Finally we decided to leave it to another day and he headed out to visit his mother.  Then I got a call from Lex saying that Doug was gathering up some tools and would be returning to finish the job.  Even with serious tools it was a really difficult, time-consuming task, but he finally got it done.  Putting the new one on was a snap.

How does one thank someone so generous and caring and willing to  help?  Nothing I could say would be adequate.  Lex got a husband when she married Doug, but I got a brother.

I spoke with the pre-anesthesia nurse for my Monday surgery, and I'm scheduled to show up at 7:30AM for a 9:00 surgery.  Somehow having that information makes it seem more real and much too soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.