Bella, calculating our scores

I was with the children again today, my great good fortune. I had spent the morning doomscrolling, and I needed to get away. 

Once again, people in one place have been sent to war with people in another place so that rich men can get richer. Those whose lives are most fragile, who don't have cars to escape in, who are too tired or too old or too young or too poor, will be annihilated. Those who survive will be traumatized. 

There is suffering, loss, injury, death. It happens over and over. Americans clutch pearls in horror at Putin but not at their own billionaires turning back refugees, imprisoning children, blasting lives to hell in order to get oil, lithium, gold, or whatever substance they imagine will give them power.

Putting that awareness aside, I played another rousing hour of Cave of Wonder with Evan and then a card game called Sushi Go with Bella, who painted her own nails and added tiny paste "diamonds" to the middle finger of each hand. And why not. The world of adults is stone cold madness. I almost didn't post today because the photos taken in their house, in the dark, were hardly worth keeping. But I had to record for myself the first day of this war in Europe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.