Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Standing in for JoAnn

Our minds are deeply preoccupied with the violence and carnage in Ukraine, but fortunately we have something absorbing to work on.

Tomorrow is the march across the St. Johns Bridge, and I've learned (with encouragement from blipper Stevvi) to use RAW, which should prove helpful. I have dreaded using RAW for years, thinking it would be a whole new learning curve, but it's no big deal. I've been using Lightroom for years, so I already know how to make the adjustments, and RAW just gives more depth and richness of detail.

JoAnn's campaign wants some head shots of her, with the bridge in the background, so this is Sue, helping me practice with the RAW format against a bright blue sky, and best news of all: I have a team for the photoshoot. It won't be just one old codger, but two codgers and a young whippersnapper. Sue is going to stand on the west end of the bridge with the old Fuji and the 18mm lens. Jessica, the young woman who made the photos for the poster of Silent Voices, will be moving with the march, using her Sony A7 and two lenses as well as an iPhone 13. I will be on the east side, and I'll concentrate on making closeups and portraits with the new Fuji and the 35mm lens. 

The organizers hope to get a good shot of the marchers with the arches of the bridge in the background, something to evoke the famous crossing of the Edmund Pettus Bridge. I hope Sue or Jessica will get that one. Fingers crossed for no fascists to show up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.