Two Faces

With Mrs PS working at present there is a fair amount of shuffling going on ... Tuesdays are my day.

Mrs PS to work early, I dropped the kids off at school and kindy. Mrs PS picked up Hannah at lunch, I picked up Adam at 3, Mrs PS goes back to work, I go to playground with kids.

To be honest, it's the first time really that I've picked the kids up and headed off to have some fun. Shameful I'd have to admit. And what a great afternoon we had.

No wind for kite flying, so we went for a walk for an hour in the hills, saw wood pigeons, climbed a lot of rocks. In the process I discovered that Adam wanted to be a famous mountain climber, like Sir Ed Hilary, or be rich. How will you get rich Adam - by working very hard he told me. Hannah? "I want to be a doctor", "Can doctors be famous?". Of course I said. "Ok then, a famous doctor."

Then we ended back at the playground, which of course can account for endless time ... It was a really awesome afternoon. Great to be away from work and computers, out in the fresh air, with the kids. Fabulous.

Being so focussed on them was also interesting. Adam the thinker, Hannah the athlete and funny girl - two faces. It really struck me today just how coordinated, strong and athletic she is. 4 ½ and swinging on monkey bars with such focus and skill, despite only barely being able to reach them.

She has natural talent, which I think we really we need to encourage, in her own time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.