a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Uffington

I met up with my brother Brentastic for a very enjoyable stroll around the Uffington landscape, taking in on our many stops, the beautifully atmospheric Wayland's Smithy.

Wayland was the Saxon god of metal working.  The story goes that the Saxons are reputed to have believed this neolithic chambered long barrow to have been location of Wayland's forge.

I deliberately didn't take a long lens with me, as this was not a birding trip.  So inevitably we were besieged by kites and buzzards as well as seeing a small herd of deer and a sparrow hawk.  Next time perhaps I will pack that long lens, although Sod's law suggests that if I do we won't see a living thing all day.

I have put up an extra of Brendan taking a shot of the Manger - I love the way the light plays over those downland slopes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.