flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

Help Ukraine

Feeling so sickened and helpless about Ukraine, while walking Moss tonight I had an idea for something practical to do to help. I decided to make a pair of earrings in the colours of the Ukrainian flag and to collect donations of a suggested £1 and put your name in a jar at tomorrow’s Fairtrade Big Brew in the village. I was racking my brains about where/how to send the money raised to help, I think my phone must have tuned in to my thoughts as there on Facebook shortly after was a post listing various organisations and charities to donate to. I cleared my idea with the event organisers for tomorrow, got the green light and then decided I would make a necklace too!! Talk about putting pressure on yourself. Anyway, here is the finished jewellery and already I have been overwhelmed with pledges of money and I have 3 hours at the Fair tomorrow before I draw a name from the hat at 2pm to win the set.
I feel very humbled but it really feels as if my local community plus friends from home and abroad have pulled together to make a much bigger gesture of solidarity and support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.