Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Just a taste…

A long day. Packing and travelling while the news haunted us from the radio. Hellish traffic through Glasgow. Rushing when we’d got free of the traffic to get to Harthill. It shouldn’t take much imagination to tell you why. And why all this trauma? We were going to Edinburgh. Coming to Edinburgh. We are there now.

Part of Himself‘s Christmas present from our family was an Italian wine tasting and pairing evening run by the Lothian wine school.

That’s what we’ve been doing this evening. Drinking wine – six no seven different wines, served in relatively small glasses half a glass at a time, but seven of them.

With each glass we tasted first, then discussed, and then were served charcuterie in small portions, a different kind for each wine. We learned how each mouthful changed the taste of the wine. This is where the pairing came in - because each each morsel of sausage or prosciutto or tuna was carefully chosen to match the chosen wine.

It was brilliant. I was not sober afterwards. Maybe I should not have drunk each sample to the bottom of the glass. But I did and then we got a taxi home. I’m trying a new way of doing this on my phone, dictating it first into notes and then I shall copy and paste it into my Blip. We’ll see how that goes.

But I think that’s enough for one night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.