Inner city first aid

The wheel turns and, sometimes, without noticing, we're back at the start of it all.

It's neither a secret or something I'm (any longer) ashamed of, to say I didn't have a good childhood.

I've spent a lot of this last decade lost in remembrance, fathoming an understanding, finding my way to an acceptance.

One of the havens of my youth was Salford Lads Club. I wasn't there long but I learnt a lot, even if I neither realised or appreciated it at the time.

When the oh so lovely Grace asked me if I could help the Greater Manchester Youth Federation find a way to support the youth clubs of this countries greatest city make it possible for other troubled children to experience the Great Outdoors it was an oh so easy request to answer. I'll do it, no fee, just gratitude.

We'd not even the money to get them anywhere remote - but I'm good at what I do, I'll make it work. Today 6 aspiring Community leaders came to learn first aid. To me they're heroes, I'm really rather certain they're all going to pass tomorrow, they're all going to be encouraged to make a difference, to do the small quiet good that changes the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.