The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Avocet - Freiston Shore

For some it the first Cuckoo that heralds spring.

For others it the arrival of our reed bed dwellers and swallows from Africa.

For me it's the Avocets at Freiston Shore. I was hoping they would arrive before I left the last time I was here, but they did not, the Newport ones got there first!

It was a beautiful spring day, so I headed down to Freiston to see what I could see and get my year list ticking along again.

The Black-Headed Gull colony is building. There was loads of noise and squabbling and pairing up going on. There were a smattering of Avocets around, but I hoped to get better views from what I call the Avocet pool further into the reserve. As you can see, they didn't disappoint.

We popped back at sunset, and were greeted by over 500 Oystercatchers roosting on the lagoon. Quite something.

A brilliant days birding with about 35 species and four new ticks for the year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.