The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Tree Sparrow - Freiston Shore

We decided to do something mad this morning. On leaving Freiston Shore yesterday evening I noticed there was a Spring High Tide this morning at half past seven. I decided I couldn't waste the opportunity. Rather madly Dawn joined me.

We rolled out of bed at seven o clock and we were in the hide by twenty past. I must confess I was a little disappointed by the number of waders forced on to the lagoon. The Oystercatchers were still there, and there were a flock of Dunlin but other than that, fairly quiet. It was also freezing! But I was not going to be deterred. I walked up to the seawall. I was amazed to see the sea was lapping at the base of it. In all the five years I have been visiting here I have never seen that. When the tide is out you an barely see it. You realise that you are at sea level by the tidal range!

There were a couple of notables ... a nice Water Pipit followed me along the sea wall and a Yellowhammer and a Skylark near the farmers fields. The wonderful Tree Sparrows were all perched in the tree by the car park when I finished my circuit of the lagoon, it seems rude not to photograph them!

The best bit of early morning birding is you can come home for a warming shower and a hot breakfast and a cup of tea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.