Close to the roadside

An afternoon spent removing unwanted stuff from the carport, and then organising better what was left. Used the leaf blower to get rid of all that, and then carried on to clear the drive as well as the back deck. I have always resisted getting a leaf blower, convinced that I do a better job with a good straw broom. Today, the handle on my straw broom snapped through, and I had no intention of using it without a handle, even though it was very effective. The end result is today's extra.

After relaxing with a couple of sudoku, I went out for a jog. I hadn't gone far at all, when I heard a Tui, so paused to look for it. Instead of the noisy Tui (it kept calling) I saw a Kereru quite high in a tree only a few metre back from the edge of the road.

because of the back-lighting, I increased the ISO to 1600. I'm happy to tolerate the blue flare at the edges of the vegetation, given how clearly the Kereru is seen.

New cases of COVID keep increasing rapidly now, and apparently the R factor is currently in the order of 3.5, meaning that on average every two positive cases produce another seven. 

So far, Young L is not getting more unwell, and both his brother and mother were negative today, their three day test. They must still isolate along with him for ten days in total.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.