Grand opening

I've been checking on the apple trees every day and waiting for buds to open.
This evening when I went out in the drizzle just before dark I spotted this tantalising little bit of pink sticking out.

I didn't go for a walk today or take any other photos, but I did conquer HMRC's new PAYE software, start to get things ready for the new wage year, prepare spreadsheets for the last quarter's VAT return, and clear the desk a bit so I'm feeling a bit organised - which is a bit weird.

I had a little chat to all my seedlings and they're hanging in there still. When the rain's gone I want to really get stuck in in the garden. It does need to rain though. It's been really dry for quite a while here.

Gemma came home and had tea with us. It doesn't happen very often anymore. We're getting the hang of juggling the needs of a vegetarian and a pescetarian now. I'm missing Joel though - he's been away since Sunday and we've got far too many biscuits in the house as a result. And a whole unopened jar of peanut butter.


The news has been driving me mad today. I've tried really hard to ignore it and avoid it - we've even had a relatively TV-light day and chosen to watch a film instead this evening, but it keeps sneaking up on me. The over the top, one-sided Thatcher tributes are making me feel rather sick and incredibly disillusioned with the BBC. There's not a hint of impartiality. I played loud music in the office all afternoon and tried to forget how much it was all winding me up but ignoring something like this doesn't make it go away unfortunately. So many people are talking such a load of crap and rewriting history and it seems no one is challenging them.

Sheesh.

However many good things you focus on you can't make the awful stuff disappear. But you can forget about it for a while and give your heart a rest I guess.
Talking of hearts: I've started taking quercetin today because it's supposed to be good for the heart and for energy.

Richard saw the first house martins of the year when he and Tess took the dog for a walk this afternoon. They must be travelling up with the warm air that's on its way.

Bring on the spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.