Sad news.

Sad news this morning, my cousin Bill in upstate New York died this morning. Such speed from apparent health to leaving this world. He was 83 but he was walking miles quite frequently and still driving right up till just before Christmas, when he became increasingly breathless over a few days. He ended up spending Christmas in hospital with a collapsed lung due to a build-up of fluid around it. Scans showed he had a pancreatic cancer which had already spread to his lungs and liver. He opted for palliative treatment and went home to be cared for by his family - his older daughter (a nurse) gave up work to care for him. His 2 daughters were both with him when he died, holding his hand. I will miss him a lot.
I walked from home to mum's this morning. After visiting mum I walked to Morrisons for a joint of beef for tea since we forgot to take the one out of the freezer that we planned to have.
Went to catch the bus home. Timetable said Sunday buses at 24 and 54 minutes past the hour. I was at the stop just after 12:45pm. I waited. At 1pm I thought it was another no-show (frequent) or the timetable is wrong. The young man who was also waiting at the bus stop told me he had waited 45 minutes for a bus on Saturday when they are meant to be every 20 minutes. If the bus does not come on time on Sunday then it invariably does not arrive at all, or that's been my experience recently. I didn't fancy walking home or waiting till 13:24 (or longer) so I rang Terry to pick me up and I went off to where he would pull in to collect me. The bus arrived at 13:04 but I was not at the stop and anyway, Terry would have already set off! Typical.
Snapped the photo while waiting for Terry because the sky looked so very blue and cloudless. It was a bitter cold wind though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.