Spooked

I wanted to go to the wood and the former golf course but I have been scared off due a young lady getting attacked very recently.
She was punched and kicked by 2 young lads who had electric bikes and it happened at the end of the public footpath i use to go to and from this route. The public footpath was the scene of a previous attack last year when 2 lads came from Liverpool to commit crime and they followed a young man before mugging him. 
The attack last year - CID took CCTV footage of ours which showed those lads followiung the young man.
As they were caught I didn't feel too bad about continuing to use that path then but now there has been another attack there I feel unnerved. The lads have not been caught.
The path is long and narrow with no access other than at each end. 
Therefore I went the longer route to the golf course which misses the wood. I still felt spooked on the quiet former golf course though as there was an attack on another one not far away recently when a runner (man) was mugged by some lads. 
I've often walked alone for the last 4 decades but now I feel spooked. I have an alarm but I can't run for more than a few yards and then I need to stop to rest!
I never carry money or bank cards when I am walking but I do take my phone and apparently they were after the young woman's phone. She has a black eye and other bruising but ran away (with her phone).
I couldn't face the long route return so had a quick peek at the PF in hope some walkers / dog walkers were going my way on it and luckily for me there were council workers at the "bad" end and no bikers around. Plus part way along I could see a dog walker so I went along the PF as fast as I am able to.
The extra photo is on the longer route to the golf course and this area by the rugby field near home was recently flooded.
Feeling apprehensive about walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.