CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Greylag geese returning to the lake

I made a snap decision to drive to Gloucester to get some fresh tofu from an Asian emporium and on the way I’d pick up some fresh organic keffir and milk products from Jess’ Ladies farm in Hardwicke. That allowed me to stop en route at Frampton on Severn where I could go for a walk by the lake on the estate of the local manor house, Frampton Court.

I went for the walk first as the sun was shining and I wasn’t sure it would last. I parked on the village green and entered the estate by a footpath between some old cottages which lead to the Court lake in the grounds, separated from the house by a wide meadow. As usual there were only a few walkers and a couple of quite serious fishermen, who often camp there for days at a time, under licence, trying to catch the fabled carp in the lake.

As I walked across the meadow i counted more than forty greylag geese grazing on the newly growing grass which was beginning to be quite lush. The lake itself didn’t have as many birds as usual, but there was still a lot to observe and listen to, with coots, oystercatchers, swans, ducks, barnacle geese and more distant seabirds which I couldn’t identify.

I stood on a small promontory that sticks out into the lake and found that it was a regular flight path  for the grey lag geese as they flew from the meadow onto the water, mostly in pairs or small groups. Some times they came flying low over my head unannounced and then others would come squawking and calling to each other as if they had been disturbed. I like the greylags and will enjoy seeing them in a few weeks when they will be rearing their young  all around the lake.

My ‘Extra’ is of a few of greylags which had returned to the meadow for further grazing and resting. the ye seem to waddle all the way back across the grass and then fly in the other direction to the water. It might have been because of the strong breeze blowing across the grass towards the lake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.