Mono Monday . . . Landmark

My landmark is Nelson Pine Industries and it's steam.  We see it from our house and it tells us which way the wind is blowing and how much wind there is.  It shows when the wind changes direction.  On still winter days it goes straight up.  When there is no steam the plant is shut for Christmas or maintenance.  I thought it looked very industrial when we bought the house but trees between us and it have grown up and now I look at it everyday to assess the weather.  Today we walked further along the Great Taste Trail to get the blip.  We saw about a dozen bikers and three dog walkers and one runner.  
Info on the plant:  It is one of the largest single site producers of medium density fiberboard in the world, MDF.  There is also a LVL plant where veneers are laminated by hot pressing into a beam form.  It uses Radiata Pine which is grown around here. 
Thank you Jenny for an interesting month of mono Monday topics.  

Working Man Blues                  Bob Dylan 

There's an evenin' haze settlin' over the town
Starlight by the edge of the creek
The buyin' power of the proletariat's gone down
Money's gettin' shallow and weak
Where the place I love best is a sweet memory
It's a new path that we trod
They say low wages are reality
If we want to compete abroad


. . . Meet me at the bottom, don't lag behind
Bring me my boots and shoes
You can hang back or fight your best on the front line
Sing a little bit of these workingman's blues . . . 


P.S as I was cooking dinner I heard a familiar cheep and cheep and there was a little Piwakawaka or Fantail fliting near the back deck.  I think it had come to hunt insects at dusk.  It had two mates but they didn't stay still long enough.  The light wasn't the best but i rather like it against the white walls of the house.  It is rather fluffy so I wonder if it is a young one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.