Sunday Afternoon at the Splish Splash Spa

Full disclosure: this posting is dedicated to my friends Mary and Margaret, who goaded me into it! You see, we were hanging out on Facebook, being silly, and I shared this meme about nostalgic tins of fancy coffee/tea. And Mary said we should put wheels on it, for T. Tiger to go for a ride.

Then it was, "Oh, well, maybe T. Tiger needs a bath!" And maybe the tin could be a bathtub, if I still had one around. And I checked with T. Tiger and he said firmly: "Ix-nay on the ath-bay!" But it was too late. Suddenly, we were slinging ideas around: bubbles, shower caps, scrubby brushes, tiny cucumber slices for his eyes! 

But I knew a secret. I knew that in my bathroom, I had an ACTUAL bathtub, purchased with beauty products in it from Bath and Body Works oh so many years ago. So I grabbed that tub and went to work! We got out some nice smelling bath products with fairies on. Fairies are always good!

Well, I told Mary and Margaret - who have my address, and have already both sent me stuff - that if they luck into an itty bitty shower cap or mini cucumber slices, they are welcome to mail them, and we'll do a Splish Splash II photo shoot, for sure.

But for now, here is what I came up with, spurred into creativity by the urging (nay, the harassment!) of my friends. T. Tiger is trying to relax in the tub. Things are getting a little bit crowded in there on a Sunday afternoon, as you can see. One too many rubber duckies, perhaps, hmm?

And there are the Crittergators, looking on. A question was raised as to whether they were bath attendants or voyeurs, and I'd like to address those rumors right now. Actually, Anne, they are lifeguards, on stand-by, waiting to rescue anybody who falls in and tries to drown! (Although there isn't much room for drowning in THIS pool!)

The soundtrack song can only be this one: Bobby Darin, with Splish Splash. The video is from 1959; music begins around 1:40.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.