Garlic press!

The day started sweetly and ended better. Our little help-cheer-people-up committee of two decided we'd focus on gratitude this month as people were having a difficult time with Covid resurgence. We ended the month with a 10 minute guided meditation today. To stall while she fixed a technical glitch I said sweet, mushy stuff that really resonated with some people (because they haven't read enough fortune cookies). 

I reminded everyone that we've been through years of hell now and that, while it might seem indulgent to engage in self-care, especially given the events of last week, no one in the world is better off if we sink into despair. We cannot help anyone else if we ourselves are despondent. Some other sappy pablum.  

At lunch I came upstairs. Karen had the idea to check under the stove for our little guests. That thing under the oven that is either a broiler or a storage area? That you can pull out? 

I found a hole in the wall behind the stove.  

AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! 

Thank goodness for this wonderful evening. 

Samuel and I went to the happy hour driveway. They have crocus. I've used "croci" for the plural of crocus because I think I'm funny but I have noted that Kate says crocus for singular and plural. I just looked it up and plural can be, depending on the website, crocus, crocuses, or croci. 

The very cute dog on the corner who looks like Cowboy is named Leo and my darling 14.5 year old boy played with that adorable one year old until I dragged him away, with Leo holding onto his legs trying to keep him there. 

Then I made dinner. I decided I should have the gorgonzola quesadilla while I still remembered how good it was AND I made a hummus tortilla pizza. For the quesadilla I had garlic. <drum roll> I bought a garlic press. I haven't used a garlic press for decades because they are such a pain to clean that I thought it was better to just dice it with a knife. I got a garlic press with great reviews and that can be washed in the dishwasher. 

The smell!!! The incredible smell!!!! The garlic press released so much more flavor and smell! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.