Out celebrating

Secondborn passed her viva today so is now a qualified psychotherapist. She'll be awarded her degree in June. It's taken almost exactly twenty years since she first started refusing to go to school and we tried to work out alternative routes though an education system that ignored who she was, blamed her for her difficulties and tried to oust her.

It was only because I knew it from the inside and because my own qualifications are to do with those whose educational rights are denied that we eventually found a way through. It's been a huge struggle and I am proud of us both.

She texted me her success when I happened to be with a very experienced retired teacher and headteacher who has worked with many children with difficulties. She looked me straight in the eye and said, 'Well done!'

Here's to all the parents who just keep on going through the exhausting work of supporting our children to become who they are. We are many and there are a fair few of us here on Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.