WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Drawing Sunflowers for Ukraine…

… 60/365 
Drawing Sunflowers for Ukraine

I draw sunflowers for Ukraine
What else can I do?
But watch the news, cry, share their fear and pain
Donate what I can
And pray to whoever may be listening up there.

I started the day with coffee in bed checking Blips and replying to comments. Outside I could hear neighbours scraping ice off their cars and also heard starlings tweeting and whistling in the bathroom vent - I think we need to not switch the fan on for a while!
I got up and dressed, then had breakfast and did my knitting whilst watching the awful news.
Although it was very frosty, it was a sunny morning and turned put to be beautiful weather all day. I got 2 loads of washing dry outside.
I also made a big batch of Granola as Frank is doing the shopping tomorrow and if I ask him to buy some he’ll freak out as he would have to look at the ingredients! My no-no’s are palm oil, sugar and honey and he can’t cope with that :-D))
Then I played ukulele for a bit - I got quite rusty during the pandemic and now things are opening up I need to up my game so I can play and sing confidently if I want to.
Then I started drawing my sunflower picture, just for something to do and because Ukraine is on my mind whatever I am doing.
I read today that Russian soldiers going into Ukraine had been told they were just on military exercise and hadn’t been told it was war! They are traumatised. The Russian people have been told they are rescuing the Ukrainians from a nazi government and because their only news is state television they believe it. This is what Hitler did - brainwashed his people.

Now I’m going to knit and watch telly - but not the news! Some comedy or a good drama maybe.

Goodnight Blippers - pray for Ukraine :-| X
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.