Maggie’s Centre Leeds

It was a beautiful spring day here.
A bit of a challenge for me today driving into Leeds. I took a friend into St James Hospital (Jimmy’s) today for her radiotherapy. In 2019 they opened a Maggie’s centre there. Fabulous architecture and a haven of support for cancer suffers encouraging self help. Maggie a cancer sufferer herself, knew first hand the impact of the lack of a supportive space having been given a terminal diagnosis, this is her legacy and that of her (architect) husband Charles Jencks. This particular centre was designed by Thomas Heatherwick. These centres have mushroomed (I have no idea whether this inspired the design) -there are now I think 26 such centres (the first ones were in Scotland) and more are planned. What a phenomenal legacy. Inspiring. I know very little about architecture but I do love Charles Jencks work, amazing to find this - the first Maggie’s centre in Yorkshire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.