Mike’s Photo Journal

By iPhone_User

The Gazebo Tower - MonoMonday: Landmark

Monday….and MonoMonday or would that be “grim” Monday.  Following on from a restless night courtesy of the toothache, the first thing which needed doing was to make a call to my all-time favourite places (I jest of course)…the dentist.  

But despite having two lines, they were always busy, so I decided that the only thing to do was to drive the 16 miles over there and present my case in person, hoping that the site of my puffy face would be enough for someone to do something, even if it was just hand out a prescription for some decent painkillers and antibiotics as I knew they would not do any work on the offending tooth with the infection.

It's a strange old thing visiting the dentist….you don’t want to go, but when you need them, you cannot get there quick enough, so the frustration was building up inside me as I found myself sitting in annoying  traffic jams courtesy of the council who decided to close part of a lane off so they could build a bloody cycle lane, which will probably hardly get used.  But you gotta tick them boxes.

Now the receptionist was very friendly, and she could see my distress, but said she would have to speak to my dentist first.  Unfortunately, as I had not been to see him for a few years, (well you don’t do you if you have an aversion to them and Covid did not help) they needed to take a proper look etc etc and could not just give out a prescription - she apologised profusely but could only give me an appointment for mid afternoon, which was 5 hours away.

Well, I couldn’t hang around all that time, so drove back home.  But here’s the funny thing. Just five minutes after leaving the dentist, the ache just suddenly disappeared, as if it had been turned off by a switch like it had never been there…the only thing remaining was the puffy face and the tenderness, but if standing in the reception area for five minutes is the latest way of curing toothache then…….

When I got home and told Mrs IU the sorry tale, and she said she would drive me over. Now as my mindset was no longer troubled with the ache, and as we were on our way, I asked her to quickly stop so I could grab a photo and she obliged as she knew it would lift my spirits albeit slightly. And here it is.

The Gazebo Tower,  is a historic landmark and one of a Herefordshire town’s most striking buildings is up for sale for the first time in two decades.  The Grade II Listed building, was built in Ross-on-Wye's Palace Pound in 1833 along with the mock gothic walls as part of the construction.


Now I know you’re all chomping at the bit to find out what happened later in the afternoon.  Well, the upshot is that I could have the offending tooth removed a few weeks down the line after the infection had cleared or keep the tooth and have a root canal on the same basis.  The former didn’t have me leaping around with much enthusiasm as once it’s gone, it’s gone, so reluctantly opted for the latter. Upon enquiring about the trauma side of such a thing, the dentist told me that the only thing I was likely to suffer was 60 minutes of boredom, but I guess I’ll be the judge f that when the day comes lol,  In the meantime I have a course of antibiotics to get through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.