Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

The Poplar

I don't know what the weather is up to these last few days. We had a cold snap and out came the fleece jackets and merino clothing. Then today a nor-west wind sprang up and we were back to Summer clothing...lightweight shorts and t-shirts. It is very confusing.
The weather these last few weeks has also been confusing for nature. The poplars and willows along the Taylor River bank are usually a blaze of bright yellow and orange shades. I have many lovely images depicting rich Autumnal hues.
Not so this year. I am guessing that the long hot dry weather has played a large part in diluting the Autumn colours. The leaves have fallen from the trees quite prematurely in my view. And the colours are pale and lifeless. I believe the trees need some cold nights to somehow brighten up their leaves.
I did spot this quite bright poplar showing up some quite nice yellow tones against the purple and blue shades of "The Ned" in the background...Ah... There is my blip for today....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.