Nairnite

By Nairnite

Yellowhammers

I decided to walk out on the West side of Nairn today near Sandown and make my way across the wetland habitat. It was very frosty. The temperature had dropped to -7 overnight so I had no real expectation of seeing a lot of wildlife until the sun was higher in the morning sky. It was very low and casting deep red shadows. It had lit up the bark on a well twisted and knarled Scots Pine which was going to be my chosen picture for this date. I was in a part of The Delnies circular walk going towards the Alton Burn. At the lower end of the path it becomes enclosed by the gorse, a plant also known as The Whyne up here. Suddenly, from an adjacent field two very small birds appeared and sat on the top of the bush bathed in the glorious light. Two Yellowhammers posed for about 15 seconds before flying off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.